Bryan Paul Sullo

The 2 Best Pieces of Blogging Advice No One Ever Gave Me

In Writing on 20 November 2013 at 10:28 am

I’ve been blogging for a few years, on and off. Mostly, off, due to some bad advice I listened to early on.

Almost everyone who talks about blogging talks about it at the professional level. They’re concerned with SEO, and landing pages, and conversions. When you’re just starting out, though, none of this matters. What really matters is getting words on the screen. With that in mind, here are the two best pieces of blogging advice no one ever gave me:

  1. Throw away your themes: I’m not talking about your WordPress themes (though you can waste hours tweaking the look and feel of your site). I mean, don’t constrain your writing to one or two topics. Write about anything and everything that interests you. Eventually, you’ll hit upon some topics that engage your audience more than others. At that point, you can become more focused, but not before. When I tried to limit my subject matter, I found it could take weeks or months to generate new content. Now, I have several days of backlog.
  2. Don’t worry about images: Everyone wants their blog to be pretty. They want featured images to draw attention on Facebook or Twitter. Trying to come up with images for every post used to take hours and kept me from writing a lot of posts in the first place. Now, I simply write, proofread, and publish, and if looking for an image takes more than five minutes, I don’t bother.

Is your blog languishing for lack of content? Try the two suggestions above, and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

